About Us

Mission Statement

The mission of the Rome-Floyd County Fire Department is to proudly protect lives, environment, and property of the citizens of Rome and Floyd County by providing prompt, skillful, cost-effective fire protection and life safety services.


This web page is dedicated to all the brave men and women of the fire service that have given the ultimate sacrifice in protecting and serving their fellow citizens.


Recorded history established an all volunteer fire department in 1850. The "Oostanaula Fire Company, Number One, of the City of Rome" was formally incorporated by the General Assembly of the State of Georgia during the biennial session 1851 to 1852. On July 1, 1908, it became a fully paid department boasting an original establishment of 3 hose companies, 1 ladder company, 14 on-duty personnel, and 9 relief and on-call personnel. By 1914, Rome became only the second city in Georgia to have a completely motorized fire department. The department began in the 1980s to standardize its fleet of vehicles with modern diesel pumpers.


The fire department responds to over 6,000 emergencies annually. These emergencies include fires, emergency medical service calls including first responder and non-transport rescues, motor vehicle accidents, hazardous materials spills, watercraft, and public assistance calls.

The department is responsible for fire suppression, fire prevention, fire investigation, emergency medical training, CERT team training, fire hydrant service, and maintenance, building familiarization and inspections, fire apparatus maintenance, community disaster contingency planning, and fire emergency management.


The fire department consists of 163 full-time employees, including Fire Chief, Deputy Chief, 2 Division Chiefs, 6 Battalion Chiefs, 30 Captains, 108 Firefighters, Fire Marshal, 4 Inspector\Investigators, Chief of Training, Training Officer, 2 Fire Educators, Master Mechanic, 2 Assistant Mechanics, Office Manager, Operations Coordinator, and a Business Manager/Systems and Application Analyst. The department operates under 6 Battalions, working 24 on and 48 off-duty hours.