Public Works Committee /Traffic Commission/Transit/Trails Committee

This committee was combined from three separate bodies: The Public Works and Transit Committees, and the Traffic Commission.  Their purpose and duties are as follows:

The Public Works Committee is concerned with issues involving the Public Works Division Departments and is coordinated by the Public Works Director and the Committee Chair and is comprised of three City Commissioners, one of which is appointed chair by the Mayor.   The Committee's is concerned with issues involving the following:

  • Street and Sidewalks
  • City Cemeteries
  • Solid Waste Collections 
  • Engineering Services
  • Road closures 
  • City rights-of-way

Traffic Commission was created 1959 and empowered with the authority to approve or deny requests from the public as well as to act on recommendations from the Traffic Engineer who performs traffic studies and provides the Commission with reports, and the Chief of Police (or representative). The  Commission is comprised of three City Commissioners (with one appointed chair by the City Commission) the Chief of Police (or representative), Chairman of the Public Safety Committee, the Public Works Division Director, the Traffic Engineer, and the City Attorney (as needed).  

The Transit Committee is concerned with issues regarding Transit services, department operations and finances. 

Meeting Schedule

  • 10:00 AM
  • The 2nd Wednesday of every month.      
  •  Sam King Room - 601 Broad Street, Rome, GA 30161

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • Jamie Doss, City Commissioner
  • Harry Brock, City Commissioner
  • Randy Quick, City Commissioner
  • Margaret Hollingsworth, Recording Secretary

For more information, contact Margaret Hollingsworth at 706-236-4466